Toyota Run-X Clinches First Rally Victory in Walvis

Wilro Dippenaar and Riaan van der Westhuizen started their 2014 Namibian National Rally Championship campaign with a flawless display of consistency during the extremely well supported opening round, the Walvis Bay Rally, on Saturday 29 March 2014. Never putting a wheel out of place the Team Total (SA S2000 Challenge) S3 Toyota Run X 4times4 performed perfectly en route to a well deserved overall victory.

Defending Nambian Champions, Allan Martin and Berto Mostert, had to settle for a fighting second place overall in their JampP Hydraulic supported (SA S2000 Challenge) S3 VW Polo 4times4. The local combination lost front wheel drive the moment they selected second gear from the start of stage one and the problem was only rectified after special stage seven. Second place something of a relief given the circumstances.

In contrast to the rapid duo the ever consistent Riaan and Maretha Olivier did what everyone almost expects from them on every event by taking their almost standard (SA Gp N4) S4 Subaru Impreza 4times4 Turbo to a splendid third overall. Close enough to the leaders to benefit should anyone slip and quick enough to hold their own in what was one of the most competitive entries on a Namibian National Rally in many a year.

In fact, nobody could recall when last a Namibian National could boast twenty three starters, never mind the quality of this entry. Indeed a great indication of the combined drive to see the sport reach new heights in Namibia and a brilliant start to the 2014 Championship. As expected the opening round normally also suffer a rather high attrition rate with many teams settling in after a long lay-off but the encouraging element is the fresh enthusiasm.

The twenty three car entry was impressive as was the Etosha Motor Sport Club Marshals ably led by Barend Geldenhuys. Harald Linger the Clerk of the Course with Event Secretary, Adri Simon, celebrating her birthday with a busy schedule. As always it was the friendly face of Rozanne Rossouw behind the scoring computer. Round two will take competing crews to Swakopmund. (PatrickVermaak)

Source : New Era