Two in a Row for Tjivambi

Aaron Tjivambi of the Namibia Defence Force won the TN Mobile Windhoek City Run that took place through the streets of the Namibian capital on Sunday.

Tjivambi was a comfortable winner, completing the 42,2km event in a time of 2:32:23 – more than 10 minutes ahead of Martina Marthon who came second in 2:44:07, while Natangwe Hamukoto came third in 2:44:07.

After taking the lead with a group of runners from the start, Tjivamba pulled away at the start of the second lap and never looked back.

“On the first round they (the leading group) were together with me but on the second round I put about a kilometre between us and then I started pressing to get away. I put about three or four kilometres between us and then I ran easily at my own pace until the end,” he said after the race.

“The run was fine and I even enjoyed it although it was a bit tough on the hills,” he added.

It was the second year in succession that Tjivamba had won the race, following his initial success last year. His victory last year was however surrounded by controversy as he was banned for not adhering to an Athletics Namibia directive not to compete in the event, which last year clashed with the Dr Sam Nujoma Marathon.

Tjivamba however went ahead and won the race amidst a low turnout and was subsequently banned by Athletics Namibia.

“Last year I felt bad because the marathon was on the calendar as an official race but later I ended up being banned, so I was unhappy about it. But Athletics Namibia withdrew the ban in October last year so then I could continue running,” he said.

Since then he has established himself as one of Namibia’s top marathon athletes, after he won the Lucky Star Marathon in October last year and came fourth in the Rossing Marathon in February this year.

The overall sponsorship for Sunday’s event amounted to N$200 000, with this year’s cash prizes increased to N$44 000, up from N$37 000 last year.

According to the organisers, a total of 555 athletes participated in Sunday’s event, which was about 100 more than last year’s turnout.

Athletes could participate in a full marathon (42,2km), a half marathon (21,1km), a 10km or a 5km race.

Ottilie Aimwata was also a comfortable winner of the women’s marathon in a time of 3:18:57, finishing more than half an hour ahead of Losaliya Nambandja (3:54:20).

Frans Hosea won the men’s half marathon in 1:11:24, followed by Simeon Shimi (1:12:19) and Gabriel Shimi (1:12:30), while Helena Iipinge won the women’s half marathon in 1:23:59, followed by Ester Haitope (1:36:27) and Rykie Jonck (1:36:52).

Paulus Iiyambo won the male 10km race in 38:47, followed by Albertinus Goeieman (39:43) and Sakaria Kamati (39:46), while Anna Amutoko won the female 10km run in 39:53, followed by Alina Armas (40:22) and Ndahambelela Shelikita (43:46).

There were also numerous age group category winners.

The results are attached.

Source : The Namibian