We Must Improve – Mannetti

Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti has called on the team to improve as they take on their next challenge of conquering Africa with the start of the 2017 and 2016 AFCON and CHAN qualifiers next week.

The coach expressed the call at a press conference held at Sam Nujoma Stadium on Thursday morning at which he announced the squad for the 2017 African Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier away match at Niger on 14 June.

“We have made a statement at Cosafa and now we need to keep improving and do well in Africa as well. Cosafa is over and we need to move on and focus on the job at hand which is first of all the match at Niger next week. I want more and I’m not satisfied with our standards yet. It is a process and we will walk it through,” the coach stressed.

Mannetti announced a 20-man squad for the Niger clash and also nine more players who are joining the training camp as alternatives and who will be up for the 2016 African Nations Championships (Chan) qualifier against Zambia on 21 June at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.

“We have kept the same squad that did us proud at Cosafa for the Niger game and I have called up nine payers who will join our camp as from Saturday when we go to the High Performance Centre in Pretoria. This will give us options in terms of injury and also keep them fit for consideration for the Chan team to take on Zambia which I will announce upon our return from Niger,” Mannetti said.

The team will leave Johannesburg for Niger on Thursday next week and will return home to prepare for the encounter against a wounded Zambia.

Namibia were crowed champions of the 2015 Cosafa Cup dethroning Zambia who they kicked out of the tournament at the quarterfinal stage, 5-4 on penalties and eventually being victors with a 2-0 victory over Mozambique in the final.

Here is the team to travel to Niger:

Goalkeepers: Virgil Vries and Maximillian Mbaeva

Defenders: Willem Mwedihanga, Chris Katjiukua, Denzil Hoaseb, Ananias Gebhardt, Gregory Aukumeb, Dennis Tjetinda

Midfielders: Neville Tjiueza, Willy Stephanus, Heinrich Isaacks, Peter Shalulile, Ronald Ketjijere (c), Wangu Gome, Joslin Kamatuka, Petrus Shitembi, Deon Hotto

Strikers: Itamunua Keimuine, Sadney Urikhob and Benson Shilongo.

The players invited for the training camp are:

Lloyd Kazapua, Absalom Iimbondi and Benyamin Nenkavu (Tigers), Charles Uirab and Brain Gurirab (Orlando Pirates), Ferdinand Karongee (African Stars), Dynamo Fredericks (Black Africa) and Charles Hambira and Tiberius Lombard (Tura Magic).


Source : The Namibian