Windhoek West by-election results to be announced tonight

WINDHOEK; The Windhoek West Constituency by-election results will be announced immediately after the closing of the polling stations on Friday.

The by-election commenced at exactly 07h00 on Friday and polling stations are expected to close at 21h00.

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)’s returning officer for the Windhoek West by-election, John Jantjies told Nampa on Friday as from 17h00, the process started to slow down at most polling stations in the constituency.

“The process has begun to slow down now, but we still expect to receive voters at all polling stations,” he said.

Voting is taking place at 13 fixed polling stations and eight mobile polling stations.

The provisional voters’ roll indicated that 27 106 eligible voters residing in the constituency were expected to participate.

The ruling Swapo-Party, Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), DTA of Namibia, Congress of Democrats (CoD) and Republican Party are the only political parties participating in the by-election.

Candidates for the councillor position are George Trepper (Swapo), Maureen Dunn (RDP), Immanuel Benestes Auchamub (DTA), Joseph Amadhila (CoD) and Sophia Panizza (Republican Party).

Voters are making use of electronic voting machines (EVMs), which have already been used in by-elections in Ohangwena and Endola, as well as the Bukalo Local Authority election earlier this year.

The Windhoek West by-election was necessitated by the death of regional councillor Shikwetepo Haindongo in August 2014.

Haindongo, 61, died in the Medi-Park Hospital in Ongwediva after a short illness.

The EVMs are expected to be used in the Presidential and National Assembly elections scheduled for 28 November 2014.