World Cricket League Champs to Start

With Namibia having won the Intercontinental Cup on Wednesday, they will now do battle in the 50-over World Cricket League Championship series, starting at the Wanderers field on Friday, with the second encounter scheduled for Sunday.

The WCL Championship will provide a pathway to the 2019 Cricket World Cup and as such, it will be important for Namibia to get off to a winning start.

The Namibian team however suffered a setback when pace bowler Tiaan Steenkamp injured his knee during training on Tuesday which will put him out of action for the next few months.

Veteran batsmen Gerrie Snyman and Craig Williams return to the side for the WCL series, while national squad members Zhivago Groenewald, Zane Green, Pikky Ya France, Michau du Preez and Robert Herridge, who did not play in the Intercontinental Cup match, are all also available for selection.

The ICC, meanwhile, has announced the fixtures for the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier which will take place in Ireland and Scotland from 9 to 26 July.

Fourteen teams will compete in two groups, with the top six nations qualifying for the 2016 T20 World Cup which will take place in India from 11 March to 3 April 2016.

Namibia will compete in Group A along with the favourites Ireland, Nepal, Hong Kong, Jersey Papua New Guinea and the United States.

Group B will consist of Afghanistan, Canada, Netherlands, Scotland, Kenya, Oman and the UAE.

The sides that top the two groups will automatically qualify for the World Cup, while the sides that finish second and third in each of the two groups will play cross-over matches with the two winners joining the table-toppers for the India tournament.

The losing sides of the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches with the winners completing the 16-team line-up for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

Source : The Namibian