Young Warriors Face Another Stern Test Against Mozambique

Young Warriors caretaker coach Klaus Staerk and his assistant James Britz yesterday had their hands full busy wrapping up preparations and trimming a 23-member squad down to 18 players ahead of tomorrow’s 2nd leg of the 2015 Confederation of African Football or CAF Youth Championship preliminary round qualifier against Mozambique.

The clash is scheduled for the Sam Nujoma Stadium tomorrow at 14h00, and entrance is free.

The Mozambicans are expected in Windhoek today. Some players who were part of the first leg have withdrawn due to injury and lack of form, but the situation was remedied with the call-up of a few new players from the recently concluded Newspaper Cup and Four-Nations U-17 tournament. The technical team announced the 23-member squad yesterday.

Donovan Gainub, who captained Namibia at the Four-Nations tournament, has retained his place, since he also played for the Young Warriors in the 1st leg in Maputo on April 5, while his U-17 team mates, wingers Hiha Katjivena and Katiti Hakuria are also in contention for a place in the final list of 18 players to be finalized today.

Another U-17 player Jandjamuje Maharero is part of the strike force, which will be spearheaded by Rundu Chiefs striker Uaseuako Katjiukua, while a lot is also expected from Glenn Kamutjete, following his exploits during the recently concluded Newspaper Cup.

The Omusati Region’s defender Daniel Andima has also impressed the technical team enough to make the 23-member squad and so have midfielders Brendan Gaeseb (Oshikoto Region) and Fernandez Musambani (Khomas Region).

The current 23-member squad is as follows: Glenn Kamutjete (Life Fighters), Uaseuako Katjiukua (Rundu Chiefs), Hendry Duwe and Simaneka Kabungu (both Swakopmund Football Club), Donovan Kanjaa (Young Africans), Vitapi Ngaruka (United Stars), Jackson Johannes (Oshakati City), Ananias Nakambuli (Benfica), Isensius Mutuku (Rundu Chiefs), Jonas Matheus (Touch amp Go), Donovan Gainub (Tura Magic) Risto Makuti (United Stars), Boniface Sianga (Desert Rollers), Katiti Hakuria, Hiha Katjivena, Jandjamuje Maharero, Riuaua Kamutuezu, Brendan Gaeseb, Sakaria Petrus, Fernandez Musambani, Stanley Scheefers, Issensius Mutuku and Erwin Tjiuija.

Source : New Era