Chief Executive Officer of Oshakati

The Chief Executive Officer of Oshakati, Werner Iita, and member of the Oshakati Town Council, Katrina Shimbulu, were yesterday elected as the Oshana Region's candidates for the Swapo Electoral College.

Seventy-eight members of Swapo from across the region participated in an elective Swapo regional extraordinary conference held at Oshakati yesterday afternoon.

The same conference also elected four delegates to the college.

Iita and Shimbulu are mandated to contest for National Assembly seats during the college, while the regional governor, Elia Irimari, Ondangwa Swapo district coordinator, Sem Nangolo, regional mobiliser, Magdalena Hango and Selma Iipumbu are delegates from Oshana.

As a male candidate, Iita garnered 53 votes, followed by former director-general of the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC), Dr Ben Mulongeni with 17 votes.

Shimbulu, as the female candidate, garnered 47 votes and the closest woman candidate was Martha Eelu with 19 votes.

Source: Namibia Press Agency