Coetzee retains national time trial title

Drikus Coetzee successfully defended his time trial title after winning the Elite Men's individual time trial at the Namibian National Cycling Championships for the third year in a row.

To be crowned champion for 2020 this weekend, Coetzee improved from his 2019 time of 56 minutes 28 seconds (56:28) in the 44-kilometre (km) route to 55:00 flat which was a minute and 28 second less as he comfortably crossed the line to return his Namibian time trial title.

Marckernzy Eiseb was way behind in second place with a time of one hour six minutes and 24 seconds (1:06:24), while Hardus Nelcame third in 01:09:05.

Melissa Hinz was the only female who competed in the Elite Women's title over 22km which she competed in 33:09. Last year winner Vera Adrian did not compete in this years' time trial.

Dieter Koen won the Men's under-23 category over 44km in 59:59, while Nicolaas

Swart was almost eight minutes behind in second with at time of 1:07:27 and Jurgen

Van Wyk third in 1:16:40.

Source: Namibia Press Agency