Doeseb Wins Third NPL Term

Johnny Johnson Doeseb on Saturday won another term as chairman of the Namibia Premier League.

Doeseb, who has been at the helm of the league since 2008, earned another four-year term after winning a landslide 12 to 2 vote against Blue Waters nominee Gibson Imbili at the NPL AGM held in Windhoek.

Prior to his re-election, it had been mooted that Doeseb had been contemplating not challenging for the top position following damning mid-week revelations by the NFA Appeals Committee regarding the reversed two-year suspension of African Stars.

In March, Doeseb, whose second term ended with the conclusion of the 2012-13 season in June, had also made himself unavailable for the position, but went back on his decision to quit the beleaguered football body after calls to stay on by his allies in the NPL and Namibia Football Association president John Muinjo.

At the time, Muinjo said Doeseb’s expertise was invaluable given that he was part of the NFA Constitutional Review process in January this year, under the guidance of Fifa, and his continued involvement with the NPL would be crucial in the implementation of the decisions taken at that assembly.

Another key development at the AGM was the announcement that the status of Ramblers in the NPL has been taken over by UNAM FC, subject to ratification by the NFA Congress.

Source : The Namibian