Dreyer, Ntinda win Hangana Hake Run

Risa Dreyer and Martina Ntinda won the 2019 Hangana Hake Run and Ride 42, 2 kilometre (km) marathon race on Saturday morning in Walvis Bay.

Dreyer clocked a time of 02 hours: 57minutes and 06 seconds (02:57:06), to dominate a field of 39 other women who took part.

She was followed by Stephanie Roland in a time of 03:27:43 and Dunja Pritzen in third in a time of 03:30:18.

Last year's winner Ottilie Kaunapawa Aimwata took part in the veterans' competition and came out tops in a time of 02:56:23.

In the men's race, Ntinda's time was 02:40:36, as he beat 51 other aspirants, followed by Erich Goeieman for the second successive year who clocked 02:41:47 and third-placed Petrus Haimbondi 02:45:51

The race which was run in cool temperatures saw Salomo David win the men's veteran race in a time of 02:31:07.

Meanwhile, in the half marathon (21, 01 km), last year's winner Leena Ekandjo (01:26:14) settled for the second spot behind Mingeli Doliana who finished the race in 01:23:27.

Third place went to veteran Beata Naigambo in a time of 01:26:16.

In the man's race, Jeremiah Shaliaxwe beat a strong field of athletes to win but his time was not classified due to technical issues.

Second place went to Nghilyeendele Kornelius who clocked 01:10:47 while third place was taken by Herman Kathimo in 01:13:16.

Tuuliki Mwesheendifa won the Junior Women's 10 km run in 00:46:10, followed by Simon Potgieter 00:49:05 and Anya Potgieter 00:53:55.

The Open Women's race was won by Victoria Shapwa in 00:30:16 followed by Shiweda Ndinelao 00:46:18 2 and Monika Lazarus in third after 00:48:26.

The Junior Men's 10 km race was taken by Alpo Mbumba in 00:36:12 who beat Michael Paulus 00:36:52 and Etuhan Sayden 00:41:19.

In the Men's open, Annanias Simon (00:32:58) beat second placed Albertinus Goeieman (00:36:09) and third-placed Ananias Ambunda (00:39:56).

In cycling, Courtney Liebenberg (02:34:39) came first ahead of Jeanne Heunis (02:34:40) and Lelani Swart (02:35:10) in the Elite Women's 90km road cycling race.

In the Elite men's race, Drikus Coetzee came home in a time of (02:15:39) followed by Jafet Amukushu (02:19:04) and Mackenzie Eiseb (02:19:05).

Prize monies for all the events ranged from N.dollars 500.00 to N.dollars 4 000 for the winners and were co-sponsored by Nedbank Namibia and Hangana Seafood.

The Hangana Hake Run and Ride also coincided with the annual Walvisfees, which is hosted on the same weekend at the Jan Wilken Stadium in Walvis Bay.

Source: Namibia Press Agency