Electorate breaks Swapo two-thirds majority by one seat

Namibia's ruling Swapo Party lost its two-thirds parliamentary majority by one seat during the 2019 National Assembly election held on Wednesday.

The ruling party received 63 seats in Namibia's next National Assembly to be inaugurated on 21 March 2020, leaving 33 seats to be shared among the opposition political parties.

Swapo loses 14 seats from the current 77 seats it obtained during the 2014 elections.

Meanwhile, though re-elected with 56 per cent of the vote for the Presidential election, President Hage Geingob's support dropped from the overwhelming 87 per cent he won in 2014.

The current official opposition, Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) came in second in the National Assembly elections with 16 seats, after it garnered 136 536 votes.

Source: Namibia Press Agency