Eleven to contest for presidency

A total of 11 candidates have on Friday submitted and registered their names with the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) to compete in the 2019 presidential election set for November 27.

This number of presidential candidates in the upcoming elections include10 political party leaders and Dr Panduleni Iitula, an independent candidate.

ECN chairperson Advocate Nontemba Tjipueja declared the 11 candidates that are to partake in the presidential election while also indicating the 16 parties submitted their party lists for the national assembly election.

Tjipueja said the parties' lists will have to be gazetted in the government gazzete only if they meet the requirements.

The list which are being considered by the ECN in terms of section 77 of the electoral act to make sure that they comply with the article 46, section 1 (a) of the constitution and article 47 of the constitution, she said.

She said the considered lists by the commission are the one to be gazetted adding only if the comply with the requirements.

The candidates that will be contesting for 2019 presidential elections are as follows:

Apius !Auchab for United democratic front (UDF)

Hage Geingob for South West African People Organisation (SWAPO)

Tangeni Iijambo for South West Africa National Union (SWANU)

Dr Panduleni Iitula, an independent candidate

Mike Kavekotora for Rally for Demorcay and Progress (RDP)

Esther Muinjangue for National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO)

Epafras Mukwiilongo for Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF)

Ignatius Shixwameni for All People's Party (APP)

Bernadus Swartbooi for landless People's Movement (LPM)

McHenry Venaani for Popular Democratic Movement (PDM)

Henk Mudge for Republican Party (RP)

The parties that have submitted their party list for the 2019 national assembly elections are as follow.

All People's Party

Christian Democratic Voice Party

Congress of Democracy

Landless People's Movement

Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters

National Democratic Party of Namibia

National Patriotic Front

National Unity Democratic Organisation

Popular Democratic Movement

Rally for Democracy and Progress

Republican Party

South West Africa National Union

South West African People Organisation

United democratic Front

United People's Movement

Workers Revolutionary Party.