Exciting Beach Volleyball Tournament

The DTSEPSI Beach Volleyball Tournament took place in Windhoek last weekend at the DTS Sports Ground and proved a huge success with 32 teams taking part in the one-day tourney.

The competition, which forms part of the this year’s National Beach Volleyball Series, consisted of 6 Men’s teams, 9 Ladies’ teams, 9 mixed 4-a-side social teams, 5 YouthSocial 2-a-side teams and 3 Junior Girls 2-a-side teams, with a total amount of N$ 5 000 in prize money was at stake and the teams were fighting hard to reach the podium. In the 4-a-side category, 2 groups played in a round robin system with the following teams, reaching the top 2 places to qualify for the semi-finals, Cats amp Dogs, Farmers Attack, Meatco Paradise amp Scoops. Cats amp Dogs, managed to win their semi-final against Farmers Attack, 2-0 sets. Meatco Paradise clinched a narrow win over Scoops (2-1) to reach the final. Cats amp Dogs were, however, too g against the Meatco combination and won their first title this year, leaving Farmers Attack adrift in 3rd place. In the Junior girls category, only 3 teams entered that saw the combination of Methe Ritzdorf and Friedja Mehnert seeing Aliena Rumpf and Ranyana Metzger off with Amy Coury and Tanya Mittendorf in 3rd spot.

The 2-a-side YouthSocial category attracted 5 teams with the top 3 places to be decided in a round robin final that saw the OTB team of Werner Paulus and Zuma Kalipi reaching top position, while Eike HoffNicole Bierbach finished 2nd with Melissa Kring and her playing partner Michelle Bierbach having to be satisfied with the bronze medal. The Ladies category saw 9 teams battling it out, with a couple of newcomers from the junior girls’ level moving up to the ladies category. No 1 seeded team of Rosi HennesTeja Luumlck reached the semi-finals by beating the junior ladies team of Kim SeebachStephanie Palmhert 2-1 sets. No 2 seeded team Anita KinderSimone von Wietersheim also cruised through defeating Wiebke HoumlritzauerBirte Fahrbach thus leaving the combination of HoumlritzauerFahrbach to fight it out from the losers round to set up a date with HennesLuumlck in the semi-.final. In an exciting 3 set match, played under floodlights, Kindervon Wietersheim managed to win their 2nd tourney this year. Third place went to LuumlckHennes. Six men’s teams played in a very competitive field of young and old players. Junior National Team of Jan Eric Sack and Roman von Ludwiger, beating Peter Brinkmann who was playing with his 15-year old nephew Luke, since his regular partner, Achim Luumlck was unavailable, in a thrilling 3 set semi-final match. In the 2nd semi-final, no 1 seeded team Arno PackHeiko Prior, lost against the newly formed team of James Verrinder and Michael Sickel in straight sets.

The final provided great action, with each team winning one set, with a tiebreak set to decide the winners but player coach, Verrinder showed his experience against the youngsters to eventually take the tie 15-11 on the way to grabbing their first title. Third place went to Packrior. The next tourney takes place on the 27th of next month.

Caption: 033 jpg – From left: James Verrinder, Michael Sickel, Simone von Wietersheim, Anita Kinder, Werner Paulus and Zuma Kalipi

Source : New Era