Four border posts reopen

Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security, Frans Kapofi on Wednesday announced four border posts have been reopened.

A media statement issued by the ministry said the Katima Mulilo, Ariamsvlei, Noordoewer border posts and the Walvis Bay border harbour have been reopened, effective immediately, in terms of Regulation 8 (3)(b) of the Public Health COVID-19 General Regulations.

The statement urged designated border posts to comply with public health regulations when dealing with travellers during the pandemic, noting that the four borders are now declared the only Namibian entry and exit ports subject to applicable health regulations.

It further noted that the now declared posts join the Hosea Kutako International Airport, which was opened on 01 September to allow tourists into the country.

“Namibia closed all its borders when government declared a state of emergency on 17 March following the outbreak of COVID-19,” said the statement.

Source: Namibia Press Agency