Geingob, Swapo in pole position as ECN finalises election results

All Returning officers from the 121 constituencies have declared and submitted the results for the 2019 Presidential and National Assembly elections to the Electoral Commission of Namibia.

Both elections took place on Wednesday, with polls opening at 07h00 and closed as late as 03h00 the following day.

Only 37 constituencies have been counted so far.

In an interview with Nampa on Friday morning, the ECN boss Theo Mujoro said the commission is busy verifying the results from the different constituencies as well as regions and the time of the official pronouncement will be announced by 13h00.

He implored the nation to give ECN the time and space to meticulously verify to ensure that the results are credible and acceptable to the nation.

He also indicated that ECN will not allow itself to be pushed around in announcing the much-awaited results.

By 08h50, incumbent President, Hage Geingob was leading the presidential race with 115 949 votes, according to official ECN statistics.

He is followed by independent presidential candidate Panduleni Itula with 62 506.

Popular Democratic Movement leader McHenry Venaani is third with 15 446 votes.

On the political parties' front, Swapo is leading with 137 143 votes, followed by PDM with 37 141.

The new kid on the block - the Landless People's Movement - is third with 18 615 votes so far.

This is a developing story and the nation will be updated as statistics become available.

Source: Namibia Press Agency