Names of PDM candidates for elections submitted to ECN at Otjiwarongo

The Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) on Thursday submitted the names of its candidates who will represent the party in the Regional Council and Local Authority elections to the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) at Otjiwarongo.

PDM’s Otjozondjupa Regional Coordinator, Fredericks Tjijahura submitted the names on behalf of the party.

Tjijahura said party member Asariel Ilonga will contest the position of Otjiwarongo Constituency councillor in the regional council elections on 25 November 2020.

The 12 party members who will contest the local authority elections are Jacob Laubscher, Erenst Muraranganda, Elsie Phiri, Benita Gaingos, Usier Doeseb, Festus Vizembua, Jeaneth Kenatjizeu, Willem Ngongo, Asariel Ilonga, Levi Mbaisa, Kunovandu Hepuite and Monica Kambako.

“Their names were accepted by the ECN on Thursday and for us, it is now is to concentrate our energies on other political matters,” said Tjijahura.

ECN returning officer at Otjiwarongo, Zongo Kaura on Thursday called on political parties in the constituency to register their candidates as soon as possible since the deadline for the registration of such candidates is Friday morning at 11h00.

Source: Namibia Press Agency