WINDHOEK, Namibia has granted exemption from visa requirements to a number of countries, whose nationals can now enter Namibia without a visa.

A statement issued here Wednesday by the Deputy Director of Information and Research in the Ministry of International Relations and Co-operation, Marbeline Goagoses, confirmed this.

The countries exempted are: Angola, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Macau (SAR), Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Moldova, Mozambique, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The statement, however, highlighted that foreign nationals holding diplomatic, official and service passports from countries such as the Republic of Congo, Ghana, Venezuela and India are exempted for up to three months.

Namibian nationals do not need a visa when visiting countries such as Angola, Botswana, Cuba, Kenya, Hong Kong (SAR), Lesotho, Macau (SR), Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, The Bahamas, Trinidad, Tobago, United Kingdom (UK), Zambia, Zimbabwe and Mozambique.

According to the statement, Namibian nationals who hold diplomatic, official and service passports are allowed to enter countries such as Congo, France, Ghana, Germany, India, Philippines, Switzerland, Turkey and Venezuela.

"As for India and France, Namibian diplomats and officials are only allowed entry for up to three months as well as only 21 days in the Philippines," said the statement.

Brazil tourist visas are only issued to nationals when travelling on official or business related trips, while Ethiopia only issues visas to official business visitors who plan to attend workshops, seminars and official functions of the African Union (AU), United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) and other United Nations (UN) organs.

Rwanda, on the other hand, issues visas at any entry point in that country.