Namibia: Rusch Takes Firm Lead in Enduro Champs

The annual Bank Windhoek Namibian Enduro Championship series entered the second half of the season on Saturday, with round five taking place at Uis, in the vast Erongo region.

A number of championship contenders suffered setbacks, such as Sven Schneidenberger (KTM, Class 5), BjAlrn Bierbrauer (Yamaha, Class 2) and Jens Rubow (Yamaha, Class 3), who did not see the finish line.

Henner Rusch (KTM) in a top class performance secured victory yet again in the motorbikes class of more than 250 cc. Pascal Henle (KTM) had an excellent day and kept the pressure up on Rusch until the end to secure second place eventually.

Kai Hennes (KTM) crossed the finishing line in third place, while BjAlrn Bierbrauer (Yamaha), second until last weekend, has to retire due to technical hiccups.

With four victories in succession, Rusch has taken the championship lead, and because of the fact that each rider could cancel one result of the championship in the final calculation at the end of the season, remains in a strong position for the overall championship lead.

In the motorbikes up to 200cc class, Ingo Waldschmidt (KTM) and Tommy Gous (Yamaha), were entangled in a closely contested race vying for the championship lead. The pair was just separated by a mere three points, going into last weekend's event.

Waldschmidt added another three points to his championship lead, finishing first at Uis, ahead of Gous. Marcel Henle (KTM), had to overcome technical difficulties, but did not give up and was rewarded with third place eventually. In the absence of JAlrn Greiter (KTM), Henle moved into third place overall.

It was not Sven Schneidenbergers' (KTM) lucky day. Having dominated the senior motorbikes class this season, Schneidenbergers had to surrender to an injury sustained during the race and did not finish.

Frank Ahlreip (KTM) and Kai Hohmeier (KTM) were both in excellent form and raced neck to neck for victory until the final lap. Ahlreip demonstrated all his skill in the last lap to secure a well deserved first win of the season.

Second placed Hohmeier (KTM) is now back in contention for a championship podium finish, as he now trails overall third Werner Wiese (KTM) by just four points.

Gerald Heiser (KTM) and Jurgen Gladis (KTM) have been in close contention for the championship lead in the Clubman's Class all season, and that scenario remained intact.

However, Gladis triumphed ahead of Heiser, moving within one point of the championship leader while Heinz Erni (KTM) earned his first podium finish of the season, crossing the finish line third.

In the Off Road Bikes class, victory went to Juan van As (KTM), breaking the four races' unbeaten run of championship leader Kurt Hartung (KTM), who finished second. In third place, last year's champion Peter Weber (KTM) secured his first podium finish of the season.

In the Development Class, Swakopmund rider Liam Gilchrist (Husqvarna) claimed victory including the championship lead with an excellent performance. Adam Johnston (Yamaha) again showed strong perseverance finishing second on the demanding track.

JL Opperman (Honda) is back in contention for the overall championship in the Open Quads Class after claiming victory, with championship leader Jens Rubow (Yamaha) failing to finish the race.

Gary Rowland (Honda) finished second tailed by Claire Brendel (Honda) adrift in third while in the Ladies Quad Class, championship leader Shannon Rowland (Honda) rode an immaculate and consistent race to claim victory.

The next championship takes place on the 13th of next month on Farm Ababis near Karibib.

Source: The Namibian