Netball Namibia determined to qualify for World Cup

WINDHOEK; The Namibian netball governing body, Netball Namibia (NN), has vowed to pull out all stops to qualify for the 2015 Netball World Cup.

Namibia has been selected to play World Cup qualifying games along with Botswana, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Kenya in Botswana from 14 to 20 September 2014.

Only the top two teams will qualify for the World Cup slated for Australia from 07 to 16 August 2015.

The Namibia national netball team has been training hard the past two weeks, preparing for the African group qualifiers.

Netball Namibia’s Public Relations Officer (PRO), Rebekka /Goagoses-Nekundi told Nampa on Tuesday that the players are in high spirits and ready to go to Botswana.

“Namibia has not been part of the World Cup qualifiers for more than a decade, and the rest of Africa will feel Namibia’s presence during the qualifiers. That’s how determined we are to once again be at the World Cup and to make our nation proud as we have always done in the past,” she said.

/Goagoses-Nekundi, however, said a lack of funding could derail their plans of qualifying for Australia.

“Apart from the government and the Sports Commission’s assistance, little else has been forthcoming in terms of financial and material support to the team. This situation does not bode well for a team that is overly motivated to go and do Namibia proud in Botswana, and hopefully also in Australia at the Netball World Cup,” she stated.

The PRO thus called on corporate Namibia to assist the national team in its pursuit of World Cup qualification glory.

“The time is now for Namibia to show its support to the girls by contributing materially and financially to their tour. The team will be going into camp on 08 September, and there are no funds to cater for all the players while in camp,” she said.

The squad consists of Tusnelde Fillemon, Susan van Zyl, Joeline Dunn, Eve Hamaalwa, Juane Jansen van Vuuren, Schoerita van der Merwe, Vetarapi Ngapite, Glyneth Kazonganga, Menette Muvangua, Jatjinda Kambatuku, Twaneth Harases, Augusta Sethie, Melissa Neis, Delila Keja, Lyan Pura, Maretha Burger.