Oshana Region’s three serving councillors voted out

OSHAKATI: Oshana regional councillors, Joseph Kapya Endjala, Vinia Abisai and Aram Martin have suffered defeat during the Swapo-Party primaries held at their respective districts/constituencies on Sunday and Monday.

Coordinator of the Swapo-Party in the Oshana Region, Erastus Kapolo confirmed to Nampa in an interview at Oshakati on Tuesday.

Endjala will be replaced by Gerson Hanu Kapenda and Abisai and Martin have lost the elections to Andreas Uutoni and Johannes Andreas, respectively.

Kapenda is a local businessman, Uutoni is employed as a corporate communications officer of the Ongwediva Town Council and Andreas is a retired Colonel from the Namibia Defence Force (NDF).

Kapolo said the elections of the Swapo-Party’s candidates for the Regional Council and Local Authority Election in the Oshana Region was concluded on Monday and already endorsed by the party headquarters in Windhoek.

“It was conducted according to our intra-party election procedures and no paid-up member was denied the opportunity to stand to be elected,” Kapolo charged, adding that the complaints of unfair practices noticed in the primaries are rumours being made by those who had high expectations and ended up losing.

He expressed concern about the women who are being not ready to avail themselves to be elected as regional councillors.

Elia Irimari, who is a former Namibian Students’ Organization (Nanso) activist and now a local teacher, has been elected as the Swapo-Party’s candidate for the Ondangwa Urban Constituency.

Ondangwa is this time around divided into the two constituencies of Ondangwa Urban and Ondangwa Rural, with the serving councillor of Ondangwa Constituency, Abraham Kaushiweni Alfeus, elected as candidate for the Ondangwa Rural Constituency.

Other regional councillors retained their positions are Rosalia Shilenga of the Okatana Constituency, Adolf Uunona (Ompundja), Lotto Kuushomwa (Oshakati East), Andreas Amundjindi (Uukwiyuushona), Joseph Mupetami (Okatyali) and Amutenya Ndahafa (Uuvudhiya).

Kuushomwa is also the chairperson of the Oshana Regional Council, while Martin and Shilenga are members of the National Council (NC) representing the Oshana Region.

Shilenga is the only woman candidate.