Oshikoto Region (allAfrica.com)

Oshikoto’s best achievement at the Namibia Newspaper Cup came way back in 2002 when they finished as the runners-up, but after a lean spell their stock is once again on the rise, after they finished third at last year’s tournament.

Oshikoto have an experienced team with many of last year’s players once again available.

Some of the players to look out for include left back Baloyi Tsandib who plays for Benfica in the Namibia Premier League and is a member of the Namibian U-20 squad.

Brendon Gaeseb is a skilful right winger who plays for Young Rangers and who was selected for the Shadow Newspaper Cup Team at last year’s tournament.

Desmond Kharigub is a powerful striker and their ‘goal scoring machine’ who plays for Chief Santos in the North East First Division, while Hesekiel Kapenda is a talented midfielder who plays for Volcano FC in the Oshikoto second division.

Coach Energy Usizi however said their preparations had not gone well.

“Our preparation did not go well and we had a lot of problems with regard to a lack of money and accommodation for our players. We wrote letters to the government and local business people but few responded and we received very little money. We didn’t have accommodation or transport for the players, while some of them also didn’t have ID’s but we managed to sort that out with Home Affairs,” he said.

“We are in the Group of Death, along with Karas, Erongo and Khomas, but if we emerge from the group I’m sure we will go all the way and lift the trophy. We are ready and need our supporters behind us,” he said.

Oshikoto Squad:

Desmond Kharigub (Chief Santos FC)

2. Anton Milton Kanyaku (Young Rangers)

3. Ronaldinho Gerome Pieters (City Boys FC)

4. Petrus Eino Tangi Simon (Volcano FC)

5. Natanael Victor (Myfield Young United)

6. Sakaria Shingwedha (Safile United FC)

7. Vulikeni Ndjimba ( Omandengu United FC)

8. Brendan Gaeseb (Young Rangers)

9. Barnabas Barnabas (Safile United FC)

10. Fillemon Leonard (Onathinge United FC)

11. Baloyi Tsandib (Benfica FC)

12. Ronaldo Gaoab (Chief Santos FC)

13. Griffith Kauvee (Opawa JSS)

14. Calvin Sipiegel (Chief Santos FC)

15. Hesekiel Immanuel Kapenda (Volcano FC)

16. Lasarus Awene (Mama Love FC)

17. Tomas Frans (Onayena Eleven)

18. Jonas Haiyala (Volcano FC)

19. Salom Shoonyeka (Mama Love FC)

20. Innocent Khaiseb (Chief Santos FC)