Regional Capacity Development Centers

The six regional centers in Africa form part of the IMF's Africa Capacity-Building Initiative . Current partners include the European Union, Germany, the United Kingdom, China, Switzerland, the Netherlands, France, Luxembourg, Australia, Canada, the European Investment Bank, the African Development Bank, and Korea. Host and member countries also provide a significant share of the funding.

East AFRITAC was opened in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, in 2002, and works with Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda. AFRITAC West was established in 2003 and is in Abidjan, CAte d'Ivoire, working with Benin, Burkina Faso, CAte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. AFRITAC Central was opened in Libreville, Gabon, in 2007 to work with Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) countries: Gabon, Cameroon, Chad, Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, and Equatorial Guinea, as well as Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Sao Tome and Principe. AFRITAC South was established in Mauritius in 2011, and works with Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe�it is co-located and jointly managed with the Africa Training Institute (see below). AFRITAC West 2, opened in 2013 in Accra, Ghana, works with the English and Portuguese-speaking members of the Economic Community of West African States ( ECOWAS): Cabo Verde, The Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone.

The Africa Training Institute (ATI) opened in Mauritius in June 2013. It conducts hands-on training and regional workshops, for officials from 45 sub-Saharan African countries. Financial support is provided by Mauritius, China, Germany, Korea, Australia, the European Investment Bank, Angola, Seychelles, and Togo.


The Pacific Financial Technical Assistance Center (PFTAC) , established in Suva, Fiji, in 1993, supports 16 Pacific island countries and territories: The Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. Current partners include Australia, New Zealand, the European Union, Korea, the Asian Development Bank, and the host and member countries.

The IMF-Singapore Regional Training Institute (STI) was established in Singapore in 1998 as a joint initiative with the Government of Singapore. The STI works closely with other IMF capacity development providers in the region and the South East Asian Central Banks (SEACEN) Research and Training Centre. Financing for the STI is provided by Singapore and Japan, with additional support from Australia.

The IMF Capacity Development Office in Thailand (CDOT) was established in Bangkok in 2012. Core beneficiary countries are Myanmar, Lao P.D.R., Cambodia and Vietnam. Select capacity development projects based in CDOT also cover other countries in Southeast Asia and in the Pacific Island region. The Bank of Thailand hosts the CDOT Office and Japan provides financial support.

The South Asia Regional Training and Technical Assistance Center (SARTTAC) , which began operations in January 2017, is the first center to fully integrate training and technical assistance. Located in New Delhi, India, SARTTAC works with Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. Member countries finance two-thirds of the center's budget, with additional funding from the European Union, Korea, the United Kingdom, and Australia.

The China-IMF Capacity Development Center (CICDC) was launched in April 2018 and works with government officials from China and other countries. The CICDC is anchored in Beijing, supports activities both inside and outside of China, and is fully funded through the People's Bank of China (PBC). Its precursor, the Joint China-IMF Training Program (CTP) was established in 2000 with the PBC to provide policy-oriented training in economics and related fields for officials from China.

Europe and Central Asia

The Joint Vienna Institute (JVI) was established in 1992 by the IMF, Austria (represented by the Federal Ministry of Finance and the Austrian National Bank), and several other international institutions. The oldest of the IMF's regional capacity development centers, the JVI has trained more than 44,000 public officials, many of whom have gone on to senior positions, including central bank governor, minister, prime minister and even one president. In cooperation with the JVI, the IMF and the Ministry of Finance of Georgia have also established the Georgia Training Program to increase training for 11 Caucasus and Central Asian countries. Financial support for the JVI is mainly provided by its primary members, Austria and the IMF.

Middle East

The Middle East Regional Technical Assistance Center (METAC) was established in Beirut, Lebanon, in 2004 and works with Afghanistan, Algeria, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, West Bank and Gaza, and Yemen. Current partners include Germany, Switzerland, France, the European Union, the Netherlands, Lebanon (the host country), and member countries.

The Middle East Center for Economics and Finance (CEF) started operations in 2011 to work with Arab League member countries, and is hosted and fully funded by Kuwait, through the Kuwait Investment Authority. The CEF has also partnered with the Arab Monetary Fund and Bank Al-Maghrib to conduct training activities in Abu Dhabi and Morocco.

Western Hemisphere

The Caribbean Regional Technical Assistance Center (CARTAC) was established in Bridgetown, Barbados in 2001. It serves 22 Caribbean countries and territories: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Turks and Caicos. Funding for the current program cycle is provided by Canada, the United Kingdom, the European Union, the Netherlands, Mexico, the Caribbean Development Bank, and the host and member countries.

The Central America, Panama and the Dominican Republic Regional Technical Assistance Center (CAPTAC-DR) started operations in June 2009 in Guatemala City, Guatemala, and works with Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, and the Dominican Republic. Its current program cycle is supported by the European Union, Canada, Mexico, Luxembourg, and the host and member countries.

Source: IMF