Spring Handicap set for Gobabis this weekend

The Hauro-Aminuis Racing Club will host the first edition of the Spring Handicap at the Gobabis Turf on Saturday in Omaheke Region.

The competition aimed at developing and promoting horse racing in Omaheke and the rest of the country and prize money worth N.dollars 120 000 is up for grabs for the winners in all 20 sprints.

Event organiser, Mbaroro MK Katjiuanjo, told Nampa in an interview on Thursday that there are about 55 horses in Omaheke region that compete in almost every competition in other regions.

We thought of welcoming our fellow horse lovers countrywide in our region and promote this sport code together, Katjiuanjo said.

He added that the competition has so far attracted over 75 horses from the Okaondeka, Otjinene, Okahandja, Ohauro, Professor, Mouton, Kobos, Epukiro and Harambee racing clubs, as well as individual with horses.

Seasonal horses Attheroyal, Bucks Bunney, Sunny Side, Freedom Fighter, Man Track, Starlile, Rockley Beach, Von Trotha, Tin the Scope, Okatenda, Tomas Jefferson, Kapenailonga and Saterdag among others will feature in the competition.

Katjiuanjo further added that seven new Nambred and five Thoroughbred horses in total registered as well.

This shows the development in the horse racing industry, echoed the organiser.

Horses like Freedom Fighter, Von Trotha, Bright Eye, Icon and others will compete in Nambred 2200m D Division which the main sprints for local horses.

The Thoroughbred horses will vie for 2200m which is the open race and also the main sprint for the import horses.

Of course this will be the last race for the day and horses like Starlile, Attheroyal, Tin the Scope, Man Track among others will compete in this race and an amount N.dollars 10 000 will be up for grabs in the two main races, alluded Katjiuanjo.

He added that the event will start with a meeting at 9h30, followed by scanning of new import horses with a racing event starting at 11h00 on Saturday.

Starlile from Okahandja Racing Club and Freedom Fighter of Uaraa Tjiho have been winning the main races in different competition this year.

Source: Namibia Press Agency