Stars arrive in Uganda for crucial ACL match

African Stars Football Club arrived in Kampala, Uganda on Monday evening following a 10 hour flight journey for their crucial 2019 African Champions League (ACL) second round preliminary match against Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) on Friday.

Speaking to reporters on arrival, Stars coach Mohamed Gargo lamented the amount of time they spent travelling which took them to Addis Ababa saying they are ready for the match.

I am feeling good despite the fact that the journey was long. We have come to win, I can in the air that African Stars will win. We are well prepared for the match. We have no injuries. We are coming here to play a good match, he said.

He added that he was optimistic that his team will do well in the match despite football being a game of uncertainty.

He said despite their 3-2 advantaged they will go for more goals so as to progress to the next round of the tournament.

Meanwhile, The Namibia Football Association (NFA), through the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA), Normalisation Committee (NC) on Monday wished Stars good luck adding that competing in Africa demands a lot from a club and thanked the team for having taken on that responsibility of presenting Namibia.

The NFA/FIFA Normalization Committee Vice Chairman Franco Cosmos added that Stars commitment to taking Namibian football to Africa is commendable and we can only wish them well and support them were possible to ensure that they do all Namibians proud. They remain our only hope in continental competitions of late we are indeed proud of their enthusiasm,.

Stars takes a slim 3-2 win over KCCA from the first leg and will hope to finish the job at the Startimes Stadium Lugogo on Friday 23rd August 2019 at 4pm.

Below are the 18 players who will do duty for Stars in Kampala.

RatandaMbazuvara, Mbemutjiua Mata, Dennis Tjetjinda, TjiuanaTjaTjatindi, Ivan Kamberipa, Pat-NevinUanivi, Edmund Kambanda, ObreyAmseb, YoussoufIbroihim, Ronald Ketjijere, Marcel Papama, AlfeusHandura, Gustav Isaak, Treasure Kaupirura, Gabriel Kapopo, ChrispenMbewe, Deon Tjizumaue and KaejarukapoKatjimune.

Source: Namibia Press Agency