Strong Namibian Cycling delegation for AAG (The Namibia Press Agency)

The Namibian Cycling team is on a positive mood ahead of the 50th All Africa Games that will be hosted in Congo, Brazzaville from 04 to 19 September 2015.

A team of 10 cyclists; four women and six men will represent Namibia in the sport code of cycling. The riders will participate in the Team Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and Road Race.

Cycling is one of the 22 sports codes representing Namibia at the All Africa Games. Namibia will participate in athletics, boxing, karate, swimming, tennis, table tennis, gymnastics, and sports for the disabled.

The 2015 All Africa Games will mark its return to Brazzaville, which hosted the first edition in 1965.

In a statement availed to Nampa on Monday by the Namibia Cycling Federation (NCF) it stated that, preparation for the AAG is going in full swing as participation in these games will prove useful to the riders, especially the ladies team who are preparing for the 2016 African Continental Road Cycling Championships, scheduled to be held in Morocco.

The Morocco African Continental Championships will present an opportunity for the Namibian ladies team to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, read the statement.

The statement also added that NCF has lifted the ban imposed on Costa Seibeb and Till Drobisch. This decision was taken in view of their ongoing commitment and dedication shown to the sport.

The Namibia Cycling Federation (NFC) hit Seibeb with a 23-month sanction early February, after withdrawing from the national team to compete in the African Continental Road Race Championships in South Africa at short notice and without a valid reason.

Meanwhile Till Drobisch will not be available for selection due to team commitments, but the inclusion of well-known cyclist Dan Craven, could see Namibia fielding a strong men’s’ team for the All Africa Games.

The team travelling to the AAG in Congo is as follows:

Female: Vera Adrian, Irene Eliza Steyn, Michelle Vorster, Chelna Neethling,

Male: Michael Nicolaas Pretorius, Dan Craven, Raul Costa Seibeb, Xavier Renzo Papo, Gerhard Mans.

Another cyclist to replace Drobisch will be announced on Tuesday.

Team Namibia will depart on 27 August and return on 21 September 2015, while the cycling team will depart on 05 September, with the first race scheduled for 10 September.

Namibia won seven medals – one gold, one silver and five bronze – at the 2011 AAG held in Maputo, Mozambique.