Swapo members in ||Kharas urged to mobilise for votes

Swapo Party regional coordinator for ||Kharas, Matheus Mumbala has urged party members at Keetmanshoop to work hard and mobilise voters to vote for Swapo for it to retain the Keetmanshoop Urban Constituency council position in the upcoming elections.

Hilma Nicanor of Swapo had been the councillor for Keetmanshoop Urban since 2004 until January this year when it lost the constituency to the Landless People’s Movement during a by-election.

The by-election was necessitated by the resignation of Nicanor, in compliance with Electoral Act No. 5 of 2014, and the Namibian Constitution, in order for her to qualify as a candidate for the National Assembly.

Speaking at the Swapo official campaign launch here on Saturday, Mumbala said: “We are in challenging times, but we should remember that what has been tested in thick and thin, we can achieve that what we want, so go out and work hard for us to win.”

He further urged members to work hard for the party to win the local authority seats at Keetmanshoop municipality.

“Let us work hard so we are victorious in this election, people can see what we have done over the past five years in Keetmanshoop, this town has changed under the leadership of Swapo and all the other places in the region,” stressed Mumbala.

Swapo leader assigned to the region, Tom Alweendo at the same event said: “From today our task is to make sure that we go and campaign for our party, our task is to go and explain to the Namibian people what the Swapo Party has done and explain to them what the Swapo Party will continue to do and our duty is to make sure that we reclaim the Keetmanshoop Urban Constituency. Our assignment is to go and convey to the Namibian people our president’s message that says, ‘we have heard you’.”

The candidates contesting for Keetmanshoop Urban are Emrico Blaauw of the Swapo Party, Joseph Isaaks from the Landless People’s Movement, Innocent Mathys of the Popular Democratic Movement, and Willem Isaacks from the Independent Patriots for Change.

The Regional Council and Local Authority elections are slated for 25 November 2020.

Source: Namibia Press Agency