Swapo Politburo nominates top leadership candidates

Share This Article:

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, together with Prime Minister, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, were nominated for the position of vice president at a Swapo Party Political Bureau meeting held on Monday.

The same meeting also nominated incumbent, Sophia Shaningwa and Swapo Regional Coordinator for the Oshikoto Region, Armas Amukwiyu for the position of secretary heneral.

The deputy secretary-general portfolio will be contested by Members of Parliament Lucia Witbooi, Eveline Nawases-Taeyele and Swapo Party Kavango West Regional Coordinator, Dawid Hamutenya.

A media statement issued by Shaningwa on Tuesday said only the position of the Swapo Party president will not be contested and that current president of the party, Hage Geingob, will be going into the congress unchallenged.

Source: The Namibian Press Agency