Tobie van Wyk Race Day set for Rehoboth

The tenth edition of the Tobie van Wyk Race day competition in conjunction with Deep Sea is slated for Saturday in Rehoboth Naris Turf Club horse racing track.

Total prize money worth N.dollars 75 000 is up for grabs for the winners in all 13 sprints.

In an interview with Nampa on Thursday, event organiser Eamon said about 65 of 115 horses registered for the occasion is already in Rehoboth.

This is an annual event, the competition is getting sturdy in this sport code and everybody wants to end the year on a high note, Freygang said.

He added that this is the last race in Rehoboth and seven new thoroughbred horses will make their debut at the occasion.

'This competition is good platform to welcome these new horses to the industry and that is the positive gesture to the horse racing in Namibia,' explained Freygang.

The 1600 meters (m) will be the main race for the day and it will feature horses Kings Kitten, Starlile, Warrior Poet, Shadaloo, Black Market, Attheroyal, Pin Pot, Oro Negro and Count Flaming.

In the maidens 1 400m, Chief Manyfeathers will compete against Rikers Island, One Kiss, The Spectacular, C Biscuit, Nog Een, Apples of Gold, Crunchie's Love, County Donegal and Sunshine Reggae.

Among other sprints, horses like Mambas Pride, Sunny Side, Freedom Fighter, Queen of Shadow, Leeuloop, Von Trotha, Speedpoint and Miss Mcnamara will vie for 1 600m in Nambred Open.

Lady Yvonne, Thomas Jefferson, Rockhampton, Royal Fleece, Warm Peg, Buggs Bunny, Valyrian Steel are all set for 1 000m in the D-Division.

The graduation category will see Bold Vision, Little Gypsy, Starboy, Coal, Twin peaks, Little Lizzy, Epic and Lady Elliodor.

Freygang further urged horse lovers to come in numbers, have fun and end the year together in Rehoboth.

There will be a live DJ performance throughout the event and we put aside a 4 00m run for spectators at the end of the last race of which special prices will be given for winners, he alluded.

Junius Racing's Lady Elliodor won the main race in the 2200m of the A-Division last year.

The event will start at 13h00.

Source: Namibia Press Agency