Welwitschias crowned African Champions again

WINDHOEK: The national senior rugby team the Welwitschias thrashed Zimbabwe 80-6 here on Saturday at the Hage Geingob Stadium to be crowned Africa Cup Division 1A champions.

It is the 15th edition of the Africa Cup, an annual international rugby union tournament for African nations organised by Rugby Africa.

Namibia has now won the cup five times.

On Saturday here, Zimbabwe opened the scoring in the 15th minutes of the game with a penalty by Tichafara Makwanya but Namibian replied in the 23rd minutes with the first try of the game by Rohan Kitshoff and Theuns Kotze converted to make the score 7-3 for the home team.

Zimbabwe scored their last penalty of the game in the 30th minute to close up the score to 7-6 but Namibia’s Renaldo Bothma and JC Greyling ran in two more tries with Kotze converting both of them.

Kitshoff scored his second try of the game before the half-time break to take the score to 28-6.

In the second half Namibia came out like a house on fire with Johan Deysel scoring a try in the 46 minute and Kotze converted to extend the lead to 35-6.

The Welwitschias still managed to run in seven more tries with Russell van Wyk and Johnnie Redelinghuys scoring two tries each, while Rathony Becker, Kitshoff and Tinus du Plessis also ran in a try each in the second half and Kotze converted from five of the tries and missing from two.

The final score was 80-6 for the home team.

Speaking to the media after the game Namibia’s captain on the day Kitshoff said the team worked hard on set pieces and their hard work showed in the field of play.

“This was really good preparation for the World cup. Zimbabwe was really tough in the first half, but we managed to control and dominate the game in the second half as we showed character and willingness to fight for each other,” he said.

He added that currently the mood in the camp is positive and the team is looking forward to flying to Durban for their World Cup training camp with the South African national rugby team (Springbok).