Windhoek Gymnasium Beat Elnatan to Claim Momentum Title

The Momentum Rugby Board Trophy’s Under-19 Super League came to an entertaining end at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek on Saturday, with Windhoek Gymnasium defeating the Elnatan Private School 33-8 for their first-ever title.

The league is an annual schools’ rugby tournament, which has been running since 1992.

It was formerly known as the Metropolitan Schools’ Trophy, but was this year renamed following the merging of Metropolitan and Momentum Namibia.

Windhoek Gymnasium held the psychological edge going into Saturday’s final, having scored two late tries to win a league match in Stampriet 22-15.

Stampriet private school Elnatan won the trophy for the first and only time in 2006, although they were the losing finalists last year against Windhoek High School (WHS).

The game started like a house on fire for the two private high schools, with Windhoek Gymnasium opening the score with a try as early as the fourth minute.

By half-time, Gymnasium had run in two tries, two penalties and a conversion to take the score to 18-3.

In the second half of the game, Elnatan scored their only try, while Windhoek Gymnasium ran in two more tries, a conversion and a penalty to be crowned the new champions for the first time in their history.

The other results were as follows:

U19 A League: WHS 20 Dr Lemmer 14

U19 B League: Windhoek Gymnasium II 17 WHS II 10

U19 C League: Walvis Bay II 29 Dr Lemmer II 23

U19 D League: HTS III 19 Windhoek Gymnasium III 19

U15 A League: WHS 38 Windhoek Gymnasium 34

U15 B League: Dr Lemmer 31 WHS U15 B 23

U14 A League: Windhoek Gymnasium 13 WHS 9

U14 B League: Elnatan 19 Walvis Bay 14

U13 A League: Ruimte 24 Pionierspark 19

U13 B League: Pionierspark B 50 Suiderhof 0

U13 Reserve League: Origo 19 WAP 0

U11 A League: WAP 19 Windhoek Gymnasium 7.


Source : The Namibian