Hotto aims to steer Warriors at Orlando

Share This Article:

The Tafel Lager Brave Warriors had a feel of Orlando Stadium in Soweto South Africa on Tuesday as they prepare to take on Congo in the 2022 Fifa World Cup qualifiers on Thursday ,02 September 2021, 18h00.

Coach Bobby Samaria is now working with the final group of players as the road to the 2022 Qatar World Cup starts in earnest on Thursday for the Warriors against Congo.

The team will then charter a plane to Togo for their second game in Group H of the African leg of the qualifiers.

The likes of Peter Shalulile, Deon Hotto, Wangu Gome, Ananias Gebhardt, Willy Stephanus and Virgil Vries are all in bouyant mood.

Orlando Pirates starman Hotto says the match on Thursday is vital for the team’s run in the race to reach Qatar.

” We are very focus on this match. We need to do this for us and the fans back home because the world cup is the ultimate. Most of these players played at the last AFCON in 2019 and the dream now is the world cup. It is possible and it starts now”, states Hotto.

The left winger will be on familiar ground at Orlando Stadium and believes his teammates will settle in and do their best.

” It’s our home away from home but for me it will be my home at home and that is very special. I’m used to the pitch and some players in the team too has played here before and on the day that should count for something. We take one game at the time and it’s all about Congo and what we can get from it”, explains Hotto.

After the clash against Congo, the team will take on Togo on 05 September.

The fast-tracked qualifiers due to Covid-19 will resume again in October as the Tafel Lager Brave Warriors visit group favorites Senegal, on 6 October and host them in Soweto on 10 October 2021.

Here is the Tafel Lager Brave Warriors squad:

Goalkeepers: Kamaijanda Ndisiro, Lodyt Kazapua and Virgil Vries

Defenders: Riaan Hanamub, Ivan Kamberipa, Gebhardt Ananias, Larry Horaeb, Teberius Lombardt, Approcius Petrus, Denzil Haoseb, Charles Hambira

Midfielders: Dynamo Fredericks, Alfeus Handura, Wangu Gome, Deon Hotto, Absalom Iimbondi, Wesley Katjiteo, Marcel Papama, Prins Tjiueza and Willy Stephanus

Forwards: Elmo Kambindu, Issaskar Gurirab, Peter Shalulile, Joslin Kamatuka, Benson Shilongo

Source: Namibia Football Association (NFA)