Geingob wins hotly contested election

Incumbent President, Hage Geingob has won Namibia's tightly contested presidential election, beating his closest rival, Panduleni Itula by 464 703 votes compared to the latter's 242 656 This is according to an official announcement by the Electoral Commission, through its Chairperson Notemba Tjipueja at the commission's headquarters in the capital and #8234;on Friday evening and #8236;.

This means that Geingob has been given another five-year mandate by the Namibian people through their vote.

Geingob received 56,3 per cent of the vote. He is followed by independent presidential candidate Itula who received 29,4 per cent.

Geingob, in his first term succeeded Hifikepunye Pohamba, who serve his maximum two terms as president.

Dr Sam Nujoma was the first president from 1990 to 2005 (three terms).

The results of the 2019 Presidential and National Assembly elections were announced after a two-day counting and verification process.

He will start serving his second term five-year term and #8234;on 21 March 2020 and #8236;; the the date on which he will be re-inaugurated as the Namibian president.

This 2019 Presidential and National Assembly saw 826 198 out of 1 358 468 registered voters (60.8 per cent)

In third is Popular Democratic Movement (PDM)'s leader, McHenry Venaani with 43 959 (5.3 per cent) while the new kid on the political block, Bernadus Swartbooi of the Landless People's Movement (LPM) got 22 542 (2.7 per cent)

Apius Auchab of the United Democratic Front (UDF) is fourth placed with 22 115 votes (2,7 per cent)

He is followed Esther Miunjangue of the National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) with 12 039 (1,5 per cent) and Swanu's Tangeni Iijambo who has 5 959 votes (0.7 per cent)

The rest of the presidential election results are:

Henry Mudge 4 379 (0.5 per cent)

Ignatius Shixwameni 3 304 (0.4 per cent)

Mike Kavekotora 3 515 (0.4 per cent)

Epafras Mukwilongo - 1 020 (0.1 per cent)

Source: Namibia Press Agency