Prokids Beat Skw to Win Khomas U17 League

Prokids FC beat Sport Klub Windhoek (SKW) 2-0 to be crowned champions of the 2014 Khomas Under-17 League at the Namibia Football Association (NFA) Technical Centre on Saturday morning.

Prokids replicated their semifinal score against Ramblers in the final as their prolific striker Yuani Beukes scored his 18th goal of the season to give Prokids a 1-0 halftime lead.

In the second half, SKW, who were bidding to win the league three times in a row and keep the floating trophy, threw everything they had to get back into the game, but it was James Gaseb who increased Prokids’ lead to 2-0 and they held on to take the trophy away from the Olympia-based SKW.

In the third-place playoff match, Ramblers beat Jonas Chrissel Vries (JCV) 4-1 to take the bronze medal in the league. Donovan Kotze, Rowan Engelbrecht, Opics Goagoseb and Vaino Tjikundi got the goals for Ramblers while Devone Stephanus, a brother of Black Africa’s Willy Stephanus, got the consolation goal for JCV.

In the end, Prokids were crowned champions and presented with the floating trophy and gold medals, with SKW awarded silver medals for their second finish with Ramblers in third place. Beukes finished as the top goal-scorer with 18 goals.

Home of Good Hope FC were awarded the Most Disciplined Team award by the League Coordinator Cole Mungendje who was pleased with the successful completion of the league.

“It has been a long road and we are finally here. Today we have crowned the champions and congratulations to Prokids who were once again very clinical and tactically sound, and to SKW hard luck and good luck next time. This is a development tournament and one would really love to see these players move on to the Under-19 league and maybe get a chance to play second and first division football and even in the premier league,” he said.

On 26 July, Invincible defeated Tura Magic 5-4 on penalties after a goalless draw to take the Under-19 Khomas league title.

The Under-9s and Under 13s are expected to conclude their respective league schedules by October 2014.


Source : The Namibian