Namandje slams mockers at Swapo electoral college

Lawyer Sisa Namandje has expressed discontent in the conduct of some Swapo delegates at the just-ended electoral who made a mockery of those individuals that did not make it the list of 96 potential candidates the National Assembly.

As read out the names and rankings of Swapo candidates during the early hours of Sunday morning, a section in the venue could be heard chanting and booing those individuals who performed dismally at the college.

This, according to Namandje is a sign of division and factionalism which he warned against when he accepted to do the job on Wednesday.

I see I when some names are being called, some people are trying to make it as if it is funny to be on the list. Next time it's you. It doesn't work that way. It is always good so that we support one another at difficult times. Losing elections is not easy but it's not something to mock others for, a clearly agitated Namandje vented.

He added: This was not a war.

In total, 18 953 votes were cast during the electoral college.

There were 238 voters that were registered, while only 233 voters turned out for the election.

In total, the election officials printed 245 ballot papers for the male candidates.

Namandje and his team counted 226 valid ballots, meaning that seven ballots were spoilt.

There were 12 unused ballot papers.

Due to mechanical issues, there were 264 ballot papers printed for female candidates.

The total ballot papers used out of that are 233. Valid ballots were 227, six were spoilt [while] the unused are 31remember that each delegate was given two ballot papers vote 84 candidates [male and female], he explained.

Before announcing the results, the lawyer, who has dealt with Swapo elections since 2004 indicated emphasised on the legitimacy of the votes.

I have no history of stealing votes, he said.

In fact, Namandje said they went out of their way to record a full video clip of the entire counting process, should there be any doubters to see for themselves.

Swapo vice president Netumbo Nandi-Ndiatwah and secretary-general Sophia Shaningwa qualified automatically to the list in positions 1 and 2 respectively.

Although Shaningwa's deputy, Marco Hausiku also qualified like the other two, he declined the opportunity to go back to parliament in 2022, should the ruling party secure the seats.

Others in the top 20 are Pohamba Shifeta, Lucia Ipumbu, Tom Alweendo, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Frans Kapofi, Johanna Kandjimi, Peya Mushelenga, Alexia Manombe-Ncube, Calle Schlettwein, Lucia Witbooi, Nangolo Mbumba, Christine //Hoebes, Ersatustus Uutoni, Itah Kandjii-Murangi, Hambyuka Hamunyera, Hilma Nikanor, Stanley Simataa and Bernadette Jagger in that order.

At present, Swapo has 77 seats in the National Assembly.

On 27 November, Namibia will hold the presidential and National Assembly elections.

Source: Namibia Press Agency