Failure of submission of all documentation delays results: Tjipueja

Failure of some returning officers to submit all required documents to the Central Election Results Centre has delayed the announcement of the much-awaited final results for the 2019 General Presidential and National Assembly elections.

The challenge was confirmed by the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) Chairperson Notemba Tjipueja while addressing members of the media at the ECN headquarters in the Windhoek on midday Saturday.

Tjipueja explained that the ECN has a responsibility of ensuring that every vote count and is accounted for.

Therefore, to ensure the integrity of the process, ECN has put in place stringent administrative measures to ensure the accuracy of final results announced the Central Election Result Centre, she said

She further noted that by 10h00 of the 121 constituencies, 112 results were received for the Presidential elections while for the National Assembly elections a total of 108 constituencies have been received.

The ECN has not received documentation from all declared constituencies and it is important for people to understand that the final announcement of elections results can only be done after all the votes from all polling stations and all constituencies have been collated.

The pending constituencies results for Presidential Elections includes, Windhoek Rural, Ondobe, Moses //Garoeb and Otjiwarongo.

While for National Assembly includes, Moses //Garoeb, Opuwo Rural, Oshakati East, Ongenga, Anamulenge, Eenhana, Katima Mulilo Urban, Karibib, Grootfontein and Ondobe.

About 1.3 million Namibians have been registered to vote in the elections that took place on 27 November 2019.

Namibians cast they are at 1 401 fixed polling stations and 2 831 mobile stations countrywide.

Source: Namibia Press Agency