Gustav Kandjii SSS and Epukiro excel in schools tourney

Gustav Kandjii and Epukiro Pos 3 Senior Secondary School (SSS) won the football and netball categories of the second edition of the Epukiro Pos 3 SSS Sports Tournament on Sunday in Omaheke region.

The knock-out competition saw Mokganedi Tlhabanello High School (H.S) Ritquelle, Epako H.S, Johannes Dohren, Nossob Combined School, Coblenz, Youngsters, Gustav Kandjii SSS and two teams from the host Epukiro SSS competing in netball and football categories, was held at the Epukiro School Sports Field.

One of the competition organiser Meeja Meeja told Nampa that the competition is primarily aimed at exposing talent in rural schools.

We have many talented players in our areas, these tournaments help them to know each other and promote sport in rural areas, Meeja emphasised.

In netball category, Epako H.S defeated Epukiro B 15-13 in the first semi-final while Epukiro A overcame their counterparts from Mokganedi Tlhabanello H.S 27-20 in the second semi-final.

Epukiro A ladies then won the competition after they defeated Epako H.S 31-26 in the final and took home N. dollars 4 000, a trophy and 10 gold medals.

Epako H.S pocketed N. dollars 2 000, along with 10 silver medals as the runners up, while Mokganedi Tlhabanello H.S and Epukiro B each took home N. dollars 1 000 as losing semi-finalists.

In the football category, Gustav Kandjii overcame Ritquelle 8-7 on penalties after a three all draw in the first semi-final.

The second semi-final saw Epukiro B locking horns Epako H.S, Epako H.S emerged victor with a solitary goal to nil and booked their place in the final.

Gustav Kandjii then won the final, defeating Epako H.S 7-6 on penalties after a goalless draw and pocketed N. dollars 6 000, a trophy and 20 gold medals.

Epako H.S took home N. dollars 4 000 and 20 silver medals as runners up, while Ritquelle and Epukiro B each took home N. dollars 1 000 as the losing semi-finalists.

Mokganedi Tlhabanello and Gustav Kandjii won the football and netball competitions respectively last year.

Source: Namibia Press Agency