Namibia names 29 for COSAFA Cup training camp

Brave Warriors assistant coach Collin Benjamin has named 29 players for training camp as they prepare to challenge, Malawi, Mozambique and Seychelles Durban when the 2019 COSAFA Cup gets underway on 25 May.

Benjamin, who is one of the two assistants to head Coach Ricardo Mannetti on Monday morning revealed a 29 men squad of local-based players with only two players based in South Africa. Goalkeeper Loydt Kazapua and winger Joslin Kamatuka are the two foreign-based players.

The Brave Warriors training camp for COSAFA Cup starts on Tuesday morning at the NFA Technical Centre and coach Benjamin emphasis that the emphasis is on getting the team ready for the 2020 African Nations Championships (CHAN) finals qualifier against Comoros Island end of July.

We aim to give these players the chance to play in this conditions and for them to raise their hands and be counted for the A team. We have the AFCON coming up, everyone wants to be part of that team, and these players have the platform now to show us what they can offer. CHAN is a very importance tournament for us and hence we use COSAFA Cup to prepare thoroughly for it. The target this year is not to win given the up normal situation we find ourselves in with preparations and focus, Benjamin states.

The coach will have to reduce his squad to the travelling 20 players ahead of the COSAFA Cup tournament.

Namibia are in Group B of the COSAFA Cup and opens their campaign on 26 May against Mozambique at the King Zweliteni Stadium and then play their second match at the same venue on 28 May against Malawi before finishing off group action against Seychelles on 30 May at the Princess Magogo Stadium.

The winners of the group will face Zambia in the quarterfinal match set for 2 June at Princess Magogo Satdium. The action will then move to the majestic Moses Mabhida Satdium as the loser plays in the Plate Section semifinals set for 4 June while the winner proceeds to Cup semifinals on 5 June. The Plate final is set for 7 June and so will be the Third place playoff match. The COSAFA Cup final will be on 8 June at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Here are the 29 Brave Warriors: Ratanda Mbazuvara, Loydt Kazapua, Ikeinge Erasmus, Treasure Kauapirura, Larry Horaeb, Charles Hambira, Vitapi Ngaruka, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Aprocious Petrus, Edmund Kambanda, Absalom Iimbondi, Aubrey Amseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Immanuel Heita, Marcel Papama, Wesley Katjiteo, Revered Matroos, Wendell Rudath, Gustav Isaak, Llewelyn Stanley, Martin Shimaneni, Johanness Jackson, Isaskar Gurirab, Junias Theophilus, Joslyn Kamatuka and Quinton Kuruseb.

Source: Namibia Football Association (NFA)