Sports Awards nominees announced

The Namibia Sports Commission (NSC) has announced the 2019 Sports Awards Nominees, which will see 15 categories being up for grabs.

Of the 15 categories, 12 have three nominees each, with one being decided by the judges, another one by the public through an sms vote.

The Nampower Junior Sports woman of the year with a disability only has one entrant, hence the NSC did not announce the name.

There was a notably absence of Paulus Ambunda from Professional Boxing, who won the International Boxing Organisation Super Bantamweight Title in the sportsman of the year award in September 2018, as well as his coach Imms Moses for coach of the year.

Speaking to Nampa, Chairman of the judges Lesley Tjiueza said it was a difficult task to choose the nominees.

We were looking at five levels of participating from the athletes, namely local, regional, continental, commonwealth level and internationally. This helped us score the athletes and we were audited by PWc to make sure that we work according to the rules, he said.

He urged athletes to correctly fill in the nomination forms by putting all the details of all the events they participated regardless of the results.

The awards are given annually to outstanding athletes in recognition of their achievements throughout the year.

Below are the nominees for the awards.

1) Sportsman of the year

1. Jannie Meuwesen � Archery Association of Namibia.

2. JJ Smit � Cricket board

3. Nathanael Kakololo � Professional Boxing

2) Sports Woman of the year

1. Suzell Pronk � Namibia Karate Union

2. Helalia Johannes � Athletics Namibia

3. Maike Diekmann

3) Junior Sportsman of the year

1. Ronan Wantenaar � Namibia Swimming Union

2. Delano Muller � Namibia Kickboxing Federation

3. Christian Coetzee � Namibia Ice and Inline Hockey

4) Junior Sport woman of the year

1. Requelle Rickerts � Namibia Karate Union

2. Corina Weimann � Ice and Inline Hockey

3. Quin Reddig Archery Association of Namibia

5) Sports Person of the year with a disability

1. Ananias Shikongo

2. Roodley Gowaseb

3. Johannes Nambala

6) Sports woman of the year with a disability

1. Sylvia Shivolo

2. Martha Hitekalute

3. Lahja Ishitile

7) Junior Sportsman of the year with a disability

1. Immanuel Alfred

2. Bradley Delron V.G.G. Murere

3. Christoph Marungu

8) Junior Sportswoman of the year with a disability

Only one entrant, she will not be announced

9) Coach of the year

1. Nestor Tobias � Professional Boxing

2. Grant Douglas Dodds � Namibia Canoe and Rowing Federation

3. Elifas Namundjebo � Professional Boxing

10) Umpire/Referee of the year

1. Vistorina Shangula � Namibia Association

2. Lars Dobberstein � Ice and Inline Hockey Association

3. Fillemon Mweya � Professional Boxing

11) Journalist of the year

1. Aili Iilonga � Informante

2. Jesse Jackson Kauraisa � Namibian Sun

3. Sheefeni Nikodemus � The Namibia

12) Sports Team of the year

1. Beach Volleyball Team

2. Inline Hockey Junior Men Team

3. Namibia Amateur Golf Union

13) Development Programme of the year

1. African Cup Inline Hockey Tournament

2. Basketball Artist School

3. Namibia Junior Golf Foundation

4. Wrestling Amateur

14) People's Choice

15) Achiever of the year

Source: Namibia Press Agency